Article Archives
Highlights From the 2019 NSA Summer Seminar

Tuesday, August 27, 2019
filed under: News

Approximately 140 participants — growers, researchers, industry personnel and spouses — were in attendance at the 37th annual National Sunflower Association Summer Seminar, held in Medora, N.D., on June 25-27.  

The 2020 NSA Summer Seminar is scheduled for June 23-25 in Spearfish, S.D. Information will be posted on the NSA?website as it becomes available.
RMA Administrator Martin Barbre (front row, second from right) met with the National Sunflower Association Board of Directors prior to his presentation at this year’s Summer Seminar in Medora, N.D. Also participating in the meeting was Mike Clemens (front row, center), a current board member of the Federal Crop Insurance Corporation and former NSA board president.  NSA board members pictured are, left to right:  David Douglas, Josh Greff, Mike Williams, John Zietz, Scott Nelson, T.J. Halverson, Kevin Capistran, Lance Hourigan, Chuck Todd, Bruce Speich, Clark Coleman (president), Mike Kotzbacher, Myron Dieterle, Karl Esping (chairman), Ben Vig, Art Ridl and Jeff Oberholtzer.
This year’s NSA Summer Seminar educational program kicked off with a Young Farmer Panel. Pictured above, left to right, are participants Lance Hourigan, Lemmon, S.D.; Adam Bettenhausen, Wishek, N.D.; Jeff Oberholtzer, Mohall, N.D.; Josh Greff, Regent, N.D., and moderator Kevin Capistran, who is a former NSA president and current board member from Crookston, Minn.

The four panel members responded to a broad series of questions, ranging from their preseason planning process with sunflower to their main sources of production-related data and recommendations; from variable-rate seeding to the use of cover crops; from whether they utilize drones to why more of their neighbors don’t raise sunflower. All four of the panelists spoke to sunflower’s versatility and consistent profitability on their farms.
Bryan Hansen (center) of New Effington, S.D.,  was introduced at the 2019 NSA Summer Seminar as the recipient of this year’s Curtis Stern Memorial Scholarship, administered by the National Sunflower Association. Hansen is pursuing his M.S. degree in plant pathology at North Dakota State University, Fargo.  He earned his undergraduate degree in crop and weed science from NDSU in May 2018.  Joining Hansen in this photo are Rick Kesler (left), manager of industry relations for FMC, and Bob Weigelt (right) of FMC. ?Weigelt is the current chairman of the NSA Research Committee and also a NSA board member.
return to top of page

   More about Sunflower ►