National Sunflower Association - link home
About NSA Join NSA Contact Us Facebook YouTube
All About Sunflower


Frequently Asked Questions

Sunflower Sustainability

NSA Gold Award

2015 ~ Jim Krogh

2014 ~ Dr. Gary Fick

2013 ~ John McLean

2012 ~ Larry Kleingartner

2009 ~ Duane Berglund

2007 ~ Jerry Miller

2006 ~ Leon Wrage

2005 ~ Curt Stern

2003 ~ Edward J. Campbell

2001 ~ R. A. True

1999 ~ Duane Sondeland

1998 ~ Floyd Anderson

1997 ~ Kenneth Topp

1996 ~ Milt Lakness

1995 ~ Senator Mark Andrews

1994 ~ Dr. Robert Robinson

1993 ~ Dean McBride

1992 ~ Ralph Taylor

1991 ~ Bob Schuler

1990 ~ Marv Klevberg

1989 ~ Chuck Moses

Ornamental Sunflower Information Sources

Bird Feeding

Coloring Book

Video Blog


Health & Nutrition

Sunflower Seed and Kernel

Sunflower Oil


Calendar of Events

Media Center

Photo Gallery

Sunflower Statistics

International Marketing


Meal/Wholeseed Feeding

Sunflower Magazine



Daily Market News
Sign Up for Newsletter
Online Catalog
Online Directory
Google Search
Printer Friendly Version
You Are Here All About Sunflower > NSA Gold Award > 2012 ~ Larry Kleingartner

2012 ~ Larry Kleingartner

Larry Kleingartner
Larry Kleingartner was instrumental in starting the combined industry-grower organization known as the National Sunflower Association in 1981 and served as the executive director until retiring in December of 2011. Looking out for all involved, he worked hard to expand the NSA scope to promote sunflower for all sectors, but keeping the grower in control. Career highlights include: key organizer in the switch to NuSun oil; active in developing farm policy in the 1990 farm bill; tenacious in the war against blackbirds; extensive travel domestically and internationally promoting sunflower and venues for the crop. Larry also worked with both state and federal government for funding of chemical registrations and was a stalwart advocate for research, specifically battling Sclerotinia and securing millions of dollars toward a solution.

Top of the Page

copyright 2016 National Sunflower Association